Ricardo Kaká Named to 2017 MLS All-Star Team

Orlando City SC team captain Ricardo Kaka has been selected to his third-straight Major League Soccer All-Star Game.

Orlando City SC midfielder Ricardo Kaka dribbles the ball during a 2-0 win over the Colorado Rapids at Orlando City Stadium on Saturday, April 29, 2017. (Photo by Mark Thor / Orlando City SC)
(Photo by Victor Tan / New Day Review)

Orlando City SC team captain Ricardo Kaká adds to his list of heavily decorated accolades with his latest Major League Soccer honor. On Friday, Orlando City announced the Brazilian was named to his third-straight MLS All-Star Game. MLS will play UEFA Champions League and La Liga winners Real Madrid at Soldier Field in Chicago.

Kaká has had plenty of success in MLS All-Star Games. In his first in 2015, he led MLS to a 2-1 win over English Premier League side Tottenham Hotspur behind an MVP performance with a penalty-kick goal and an assist to David Villa. He captained the team in 2016, too, as Arsenal won 2-1.

So far this season, Kaká has started nine of his 13 appearances for Orlando City, recording three goals and four assists in 752 minutes.

As for the rest of the MLS roster, 11 players have so far been announced with 13 additional players to join them for the full 24-man list. The full list will be announced in mid-July. Chicago Fire head coach Veljko Paunović, whose team has earned a league-high 38 points so far this season, will lead MLS.

The MLS All-Stars and Real Madrid will face off on Aug. 2 at 8:30 p.m. The match will be broadcast on FS1, UniMás, TSN and TVA Sports. Atlanta United FC, the Fire and Toronto FC are the most represented teams  with two players each.

2017 MLS All-Star Roster (so far)

Goalkeeper (1): Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids)

Defenders (3): Greg Garza (Atlanta United), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City), DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo)

Midfielders (4): Bastian Schweinsteiger (Chicago Fire), Miguel Almirón (Atlanta United), Ricardo Kaká (Orlando City), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC)

Forwards (3): David Villa (New York City FC), Nemanja Nikolić (Chicago Fire), Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC)

For more on the MLS All-Star Game, follow Victor Tan on Twitter at @NDR_VictorTan.


Comments are closed.